West Bengal universities to introduce 3-year exit option

After the introduction of four-year honours system in the undergraduate level, several universities in West Bengal have decided to introduce the option for exiting after three years in major disciplines for those students who want to graduate without an honours, as per the National Education Policy (NEP) 2020 guidelines, reports PTI.

As per the guidelines of NEP 2020, the UGC in its recommendations referred to an option where a student can either exit three years after pursuing the Bachelor of Honours course in major subjects as a graduate or complete the four year course to qualify as an honours graduate. Those who study further can get an honours degree or an ‘honours with research’.

State-run Calcutta University Pro-Vice-Chancellor Ashis Chatterjee told PTI on Wednesday 7 June: “We have made an exit option for those students who want to opt out after three years in certain BA, BSc courses and for those who want to complete it in four years.” To a question, he said “we have passed on the communication to all the affiliate colleges for keeping the exit option for an honours student after three years if he/she desires so and alternately to continue with the four-year format”.
Full report on The Print site