Fake universities unmasked by commission in blacklist

The University Grants Commission (UGC) of India has released a list of 23 “self-styled, unrecognised” universities, eight of which are in Uttar Pradesh, reports the Press Trust of India.

The higher education regulator has warned students against enrolling at these institutions. “Students and the public at large are hereby informed that at present 23 self-styled, unrecognised institutions are functioning in various parts of the country in contravention of the UGC Act,” UGC Secretary Rajnish Jain said.

Eight of these universities are in Uttar Pradesh, followed by Delhi with seven. Kerala, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Puducherry have a fake university each.
Full report on the Business Today site