Regulator closes university colleges over quality issues

The Tanzania Commission for Universities has ordered the closure of two university colleges and suspended enrolment in 12 others in the coming academic year, citing lapses in quality. The commission’s Executive Secretary Professor Charles Kihampa said that the decision was taken after an audit of the institutions, writes Florian Kaijage for The East African.

When the 2018-2019 academic year, which starts on 29 October, resumes, Kihampa said Teofilo Kisanji University and St John’s University of Tanzania would be closed and their students ordered to transfer to other universities. He further suspended new enrolment in Mlima Meru University, University of Bagamoyo, Eckernforde Tanga University, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (Arusha Centre) and Josiah Kibira University College. Kampala International University Tanzania, Teofilo Kisanji University, Marian University College, Cardinal Rugambwa Memorial University College, Sebastian Kolowa Memorial University, St John’s University of Tanzania (St Mark’s Centre) and African Union University of Tanzania have also been barred from taking in new students.

The current ones will continue with their courses, but remain open under special supervision. This is the second time in two years the commission has closed down institutions of higher learning.
Full report on The East African site