Officials confirm ban on 19 universities still in place

The 19 institutions of higher learning that were banned by the Tanzania Commission for Universities from admitting students for the academic year 2017-18, which started last week, will have to wait until the next admission date to take in new students, writes Deogratius Kamagi for The Citizen.

According to the commission, the decision stays in force following failure by the universities to address the shortcomings that were pointed out earlier. The decision was revealed by the Acting Executive Secretary of the Commission, Professor Eleuther Mwangeni, during an exclusive interview with The Citizen.

Mwangeni said as most higher learning institutions started their new academic year last week, those banned from admitting new students will have to wait until the next academic year, and meantime, they are required to address the shortcomings. He said the commission will continue with its work of auditing the institutions of higher learning.
Full report on the All Africa site