Seven local governments to gain control over their universities

Seven cities and provinces will be part of the South Korean Education Ministry’s pilot project delegating central government authority over universities to local government offices, write Lee Sung-Eun and Choi Min-Ji for Korea JoongAng Daily.

The governments of Daegu, Busan, South Gyeongsang, North Gyeongsang, South Jeolla, North Jeolla and North Chungcheong have been chosen for the ministry’s RISE project, officials announced on Wednesday 8 March.

Through RISE, which stands for Regional Innovation System and Education, the local governments will make efforts to cooperate with universities within their jurisdictions to devise ways to improve their educational systems, thus preventing young students from flocking to the Seoul metropolitan area in search of better career prospects.
Full report on the Korea JoongAng Daily