Universities body releases list of 24 fake universities

The University Grants Commission (UGC) has declared 24 universities in the country as fake and has said that they do not have any power to confer degrees to students. These 24 fake universities have been functioning against the UGC Act, reports NDTV.

Eight of these fake universities are from Uttar Pradesh and seven from Delhi. Odisha and West Bengal have two fake universities each in their states, while Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Puducherry and Andhra Pradesh have one each.

As per a UGC statement, universities can confer degrees only if the university is established under a Central, State-Provincial Act or by an institution which is a deemed-to-be university. The statement further adds that institutions especially empowered by an Act of Parliament can also award degrees to students.
Full report on the NDTV site