Francophone HE council to debate quality assurance

Bertrand Mbatchi, secretary-general of Le Conseil Africain et Malgache pour l’Enseignement Supérieur (CAMES) – the francophone African 19-country higher education council – visited Brazzaville for talks with Minister of Higher Education Bruno Jean-Richard Itoua ahead of November’s conference on quality assurance and equivalence of degrees, which will be hosted by the Republic of the Congo.

The 33rd CAMES conference on the recognition and equivalence of degrees and the 12th CAMES working group meeting on quality assurance will take place in Brazzaville.

Mbatchi said that during their preliminary talks, Itoua had been firm that Central Africa, through the Congo, could lead quality assurance, and Itoua would establish a national quality assurance agency to undertake higher education assessments, reported the Agence d’Information d’Afrique Centrale (ADIAC).

“The Congolese minister’s initiative is important if we want to promote competitivity and mobility,” said Mbatchi. “The interest in evaluating education is having outside experts’ perspectives, which will allow us to define challenges, assets and weaknesses. It will also avoid complacency.”

The conference would also speed up CAMES accreditation for private higher education institutions, one of which was the Institut des Sciences et Techniques Professionnelles (ISTP), reported ADIAC.

The promoter of training organisation ISTP Congo, Arsène Totokani, explained how CAMES certification would enhance higher education: “Opening the masters cycle, links and membership of CAMES, increasing partnerships at regional and international level, widening expertise and services in the community, and opening innovatory programmes that will respond to new social and global issues and equal access in the field of scientific research are all imminent.”

The CAMES member states are: Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Republic of the Congo (Congo-Brazzaville), Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Madagascar, Mali, Niger, Rwanda, Senegal and Togo. – Compiled by Jane Marshall

This article is drawn from local media. University World News cannot vouch for the accuracy of the original reports.