State government plans to set up three new universities

In news that will be greeted with joy by thousands of students, the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government has decided to set up three new universities – in Lakki Marwat, Dera Ismail Khan and Mardan – bringing to 28 the number of public sector universities in the province, writes Asad Zia for the The Express Tribune.

This was recently revealed by the advisor to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Chief Minister on Higher Education, Mushtaq Ahmed Ghani. Ghani said the cabinet approved the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Universities Amendment Ordinance 2017 and the establishment of three new universities including the University of Lakki Marwat, DI Khan Agricultural University and Mardan Engineering University.

He further said that the cabinet had deferred a request from the Agricultural Department regarding the use of agricultural land for construction and had formed a committee under the supervision of the additional chief secretary to look into the matter from every aspect.
Full report on The Express Tribune site