Ministry revokes university licences in occupied areas

Ukraine's Education and Science Ministry has revoked the licences of higher education institutions located in temporarily occupied territory in Donetsk and Luhansk regions, Crimea and the city of Sevastopol, according to the ministry's press service, reports UNIAN.

“After the annexation of Crimea and military aggression of the Russian Federation in the east of Ukraine in 2014, some higher education institutions have turned out to be in towns and cities where the [Ukrainian] government, particularly the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine, cannot exercise powers for the time being," an official report says.

In 2014-16, nearly two dozen colleges, universities, institutes and academies moved from Donetsk and Luhansk regions and Crimea to Ukrainian-controlled territory. In particular, 40 ‘Crimea-Ukraine’ and ‘Donbas-Ukraine’ educational centres began work on the basis of these and other licensed universities last year.
Full report on the UNIAN site