Lifelong learning units for all public universities

All five public universities in Singapore will this year set up dedicated units to help citizens learn new skills throughout their lives as part of the SkillsFuture programme, it was announced last week, writes Medha Basu for Govinsider.

The five universities are the National University of Singapore, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore Management University, Singapore University of Technology and Design, and the Singapore Institute of Technology. The new units will help universities prepare themselves to deliver new kinds of courses to mid-career citizens, through shorter courses, more online training and creating deeper ties with employers.

“A key focus of these centres will be to look beyond traditional degree offerings, by offering shorter, bite-sized certificate programmes,” said Ong Ye Kun, Acting Minister for Education (Higher Education and Skills), in his Committee of Supply speech. “The purpose is not to offer part-time degrees or masters programmes to fuel the paper chase, but to help workers stay relevant and competitive,” he added.
Full report on the Govinsider site