Kenya and South Africa in joint research call

The governments of Kenya and South Africa have invited applications for joint research from scholars in the two countries. There will be R4 million (US$272,000) in funding available under a joint scientific and technological collaboration founded in 2004.

The fifth call for proposals by the South Africa-Kenya Joint Science and Technology Research Collaboration opened on 31 March and will close on 16 May.

A total of 10 projects will be funded after evaluation by South Africa’s National Research Foundation and Kenya’s National Commission for Science, Technology and Innovation or NACOSTI, which are running the initiative.

Projects will take a maximum of three years and, a statement said, will be in the priority areas of agriculture, biological sciences, health, environmental sciences and ICT.

It had been decided to “jointly support researchers from public universities and public research institutes on an equal and mutually beneficial basis in an effort to enhance scientific and technological cooperation between the two countries”.

The aims of the initiative are listed by NACOSTI as being collaboration on research projects to contribute to scientific advancement in both countries, provide opportunities for young researchers, and contribute meaningfully to research capacity development.

“In terms of human capital development, South African applications from previously disadvantaged researchers are encouraged, as is the involvement of historically disadvantaged higher education institutions,” said NACOSTI.

Those applying must designate two principal investigators, one in South Africa and another in Kenya, and both must have a PhD and will bear main responsibility for the project, including its technical and administrative coordination and scientific and financial reporting.

In South Africa the call is open to researchers affiliated with a recognised higher education or research institution, but commercial and private education institutions are excluded.

In Kenya applicants may be scientists or academics from qualified institutions including public universities and research institutions, science councils, and licensed private universities or private research institutions.