WEST AFRICA: ADB pays for Bologna harmonisation

The African Development Bank has released 24 billion FCFA (US$52 million) towards harmonisation of higher education reforms based on the Bologna structure in the eight countries belonging to the West African Economic and Monetary Union, reported the Agence de Presse Sénégalaise of Dakar.

Minister of Higher Education, Professor Amadou Tidiane Bâ, made the announcement during a senate debate that preceded a vote on Senegal's introduction of the system which is based on three, five and eight years' higher education studies and is known to French speakers as LMD (Licence-Master-Doctorate).

"The ADB has made available 24 billion FCFA to the eight WAEMU countries to proceed with expansion of the LMD system, its harmonisation and its establishment in the eight countries," said Bâ.

The bank had appointed a team of experts who were carrying out evaluations in each country and had visited Senegal the previous week, said the minister, who added that all countries in the union must transfer to the new system during 2013, reported APS.

Members of WAEMU are Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d'Ivoire, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo.

* This article is drawn from local media. University World News cannot vouch for the accuracy of the original report.