EUROPE: LERU expands its membership

The League of European Research Universities is expanding its current membership of 20 to include Imperial College London and the Universitat de Barcelona from the start of next year. The league was founded in 2002 as a network of research-intensive universities "sharing the values of high-quality teaching within an environment of
internationally competitive research".

It started with 12 universities across Europe and now has leading institutions in The Netherlands, Britain, Finland, France, Italy, Germany and Switzerland.