SOUTH AFRICA: Provinces to get new universities

Two of South Africa's provinces are to get new universities, Department of Higher Education and Training director-general Mary Metcalfe said recently, reports Sue Blaine for Business Day. Northern Cape and Mpumalanga are currently the only two of nine provinces that do not have public universities.

"There is no plan or time frame (but there is) political commitment," said Metcalfe. The two provinces had national institutes of higher education and the government had been working on increasing their capacity, Metcalfe said. The Northern Cape institute was established in 2003 and the Mpumalanga one in 2006, both as statutory co-ordinating bodies for higher education provision in the provinces.

Parliament's portfolio committee on higher education was to start work on exploring the idea, committee chairman Marius Fransman said. The committee would look at the practicalities, from the number of potential students and the type of programmes to be offered, to garnering a sense of what work the department had already done, he added.
Full report on the Business Day site