US: Fellowship awards for African scholars announced

The American Council of Learned Societies has announced 35 fellowship awards to African scholars in the first year of its African Humanities Program, a multi-year initiative of annual international competitions funded by the Carnegie Corporation of New York. The awards went to 15 scholars in Nigeria, eight in South Africa, seven in Ghana, three in Uganda and two in Tanzania.

"The year-long fellowships seek to revitalise African higher education and research by encouraging and enabling the completion of PhD dissertations and supporting early-career postdoctoral research and writing," said Carnegie in a press statement.

The fellowships are available to humanities scholars who propose to work in Africa.

"Rigorous" peer review decided the 2008-09 awards, the statement added. "More than 20 senior scholars at African universities evaluated applications for disciplinary quality and substantive merit. Following their initial evaluation, an international commission of African and American scholars met in New York to make final selection of fellowship recipients."

In addition to awarding fellowships the African Humanities Program, launched in July 2008, also organises public meetings in Africa to discuss new intellectual directions and standards of quality in humanities scholarship. It is "inspired by a commitment to the humanities as a core component of higher education in Africa, essential to progress and development."

African Humanities Programme fellowship awards 2008-09

Dissertation Fellows

1. Mawuyram Quessie Adjahoe, University of Cape Coast (Ghana)
2. Jeremiah Arowosegbe, University of Ibadan (Nigeria)
3. Nasir Mohammed Baba, University of Jos (Nigeria)
4. Dinnah Enock, University of Dar es Salaam (Tanzania)
5. Chinwe Roseann Ezeifeka, Nnamdi Azikiwe University (Nigeria)
6. Gbenga Fasiku, Obafemi Awolowo University (Nigeria)
7. Folasade Oyinlola Hunsu, Obafemi Awolowo University (Nigeria)
8. Evelyn Kisembe, University of Ghana (Ghana)
9. Augustine Uka Nwanyanwu, University of Port Harcourt (Nigeria)
10. Celestino Oriikiriza, Makerere University (Uganda)
11. Omon Merry Osiki, University of Lagos (Nigeria)

Postdoctoral Fellows

1. Kayode Ayobami Adeduntan, University of Ibadan (Nigeria)
2. Gbemisola Aderemi Adeoti, Obafemi Awolowo University (Nigeria)
3. Oladiipo Jacob Ajiboye, University of Lagos (Nigeria)
4. George Akanlig-Pare, University of Ghana (Ghana)
5. Rose Mary Amenga-Etego, University of Ghana (Ghana)
6. Nana Aba Appiah Amfo, University of Ghana (Ghana)
7. Joseph Arko, University of Cape Coast (Ghana)
8. Dominica Dipio, Makerere University (Uganda)
9. Godknows Eric Kofi Dorvlo, University of Ghana (Ghana)
10. Gertrude Fester, University of the Western Cape (South Africa)
11. Jude Fokwang, University of Cape Town (South Africa)
12. Ibrahim Haruna Hassan, Nasarwa State University (Nigeria)
13. Heidi Hattingh, Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (South Africa)
14. Busayo Ige, University of KwaZulu-Natal (South Africa)
15. Obafemi Jegede, University of Ibadan (Nigeria)
16. Sekibakiba Peter Lekgoathi, University of Witwatersrand (South Africa)
17. Leketi Makalela, University of Limpopo (South Africa)
18. Munyaradzi Manyanga, University of Pretoria (South Africa)
19. Aaron Mushengyezi, Makerere University (Uganda)
20. Akachi Odoemene, University of Ibadan (Nigeria)
21. David Olugbenga Ogungbile, Obafemi Awolowo University (Nigeria)
22. Imani Sanga, University of Dar es Salaam (Tanzania)
23. Tracie Chima Utoh-Ezeajugh, Nnamdi Azikiwe University (Nigeria)
24. Michael Wessels, University of KwaZulu Natal (South Africa)