BOLIVIA: Three indigenous universities to be created

While busy preparing for a national referendum vote, as well as negotiating energy accords and dealing with strikes, Bolivian President Evo Morales issued Supreme Decree 29664 last month authorising the creation of three indigenous universities where the courses will be taught in Aymara, Quechua and Guarani - the country's three most widely spoken native languages - reports Indian Country.

The three new educational institutions will be located in the regions of La Paz, Cochabamba and Chuquisaca. Funding will come from money collected through the Direct Hydrocarbon Tax, which will go to the Indigenous Fund that as of August held $366 million Bolivianos (US$52 million). Fifteen percent of the Indigenous Fund will go directly to the new universities.

"For what is the indigenous university?" Morales asked at a 2 August press conference at the Warisata Normal School, the first indigenous school in Bolivia. "It is to decolonise Bolivia. ... In this university there will be classes in Aymara, and Spanish and English will just be other courses."
Full report on the Indian Country site